Don’t Skirt Around The Issue!

I awoke this morning to the strangest thing. Silence. The clangy clunky decrepit heating system hadn’t clicked on. Do you know what that means? The temperature was above arctic! Time for The Return Of The Skirt.

Image

Photo Credit

Legs, how I have missed thee. Skirts, how I have mourned your absence. Dresses, how thrilled I am to be able to wear you once more.

See, for all my grungey/twilightesque uniform, I like pretty.

I do. It’s sort of a residual response from my formative years, when I wanted to be Princess Leia. Or Princess Buttercup. Or Princess Adora. Or any princess, come to think of it.

Image

Photo Credit

611 603 605612

I have seized the day and today I wore a skirt. The outfit I have been dying to wear since there was snow on the ground (ok, so not that long ago) finally got an outing, and didn’t I feel lovely. In honour of the weather, and the fact that spring finally seems to have sprung, here are some skirts that I rather like:

image1xl (1) image4xl  635660_main

From left to right: Baroque print skirt – Asos (Asos have a great range of skater skirts), A-line mini – Asos and Denim box pleat skirt – River Island.

The River Island one, in particular, is fab and in my minds eye I see myself wearing it with a white shirt, a pair of ballet pumps and sunglasses. I’m doing it again, talking myself into another purchase.

634493_main13WSPR_WG455_ROU12D33LMUL_normal

Left to right: Contrast mini skirt – River Island, A-line skirt (various colours) – Boden and Pastel boucle skirt – Miss Selfridge

The beauty of skirts is their ability to make you look like you’ve made an effort. When skater dresses first came out I wasn’t impressed, but this season they seemed to have moved away from the Glee look, and grown up a bit. I love the reintroduction of box pleats and pleather trims. Just to funk things up a bit.

It’s hard to wear skirts without looking like a little girl, that’s where tops can come in. Looser fitting tops look fab with a-line or pencil skirts, while full skirts look brill with super fitted tops or denim shirts, and, at the risk of Gok-ing, a thick waist belt. Then there’s the shoe issue (say that ten times) I tend to wear heels, low ones, or wedges with slimmer skirts. Something about the shape just works better with a heel. I save my pumps for fuller skirts. Marks and Spencers have some gorgeous wedges online at the moment, it may still be a little chilly but I’m nothing if not optimistic.

31BgHWosSHL._SX280_SY418_SH35_   630329_main2514201078_1_1_3

From left to right: Nude wedge – M&S, Tan wedge boatshoe – River Island and Coral wedge – Zara

I have to say, I love River Island at the moment, they have some great stuff in that doesn’t cost a fortune and isn’t too young or too old.

2251201032_1_1_1 48_224_0975 314nWC0ixhL._SX280_SY364_SH35_

From left to right: Slipper with metal detail – Zara, Studded ballet flat – Barratts (various colours) and cobalt peeptoe low wedge – Marks & Spencer

Zara’s shoes always look so pretty, they never have my size in my local store (I’m a 2.5/3) but there’s nothing wrong with drooling from afar, is there? I’m so happy that I can once again wear my ballet flats, it’s nice to get out of my hi-tops and biker boots. It’ll be even nicer when I can wear my sandals.

This weather can stay!

Until next time, Happy Fabulizing!

Leave a comment