Back To Black – The Elusive Perfect Boot

First things, first. My apologies for my disappearance from the blogosphere. Things have been a bit crazy here, but all back to normal… I hope. Anyway, on with the show! I was very tempted to say on with the shoe, I am a loser.

Black ankle boots are pretty much a shoebox staple. They go with so much and the perfect black boot is worth their weight. There’s a problem though. They can look pretty… mumsy. Not that there’s owt wrong with looking like a mum. I am a mum. But I didn’t want to look drab or frumpy. Nor do I want high/thin heels. Actually anything over 2″ would be a no no, due to my inability to remain upright across a flat stable surface. Suede is also out, I have a white dog who scatters his fur everywhere. Plus, it rains in the UK. A Lot. My search has left me feeling, at times, like I am drowning in a sea of shoes, not that I’m over-dramatic….

tumblr_m5a5fnVza91rx875ko1_500Photo Credit

So, where do you start when seeking the Perfect Boots? I looked at Office, first of all. They are usually a good bet when looking for boots, what with being a shoe shop ‘n all. They were promising, at first. A picture started to form in my head of the type of boots I wanted, the look I was going for. The first pair (seen below) were called Namesake. I like the toe, the fact that they aren’t too masculine or too girly. They are also the perfect heel and ankle height.

Image

Office

Looks like it should be a winner, right? Wrong. I don’t like the gold studding, they are suede and they would drown my titchy ankles. So, the hunt went on. The Office boots did decide me on the heel I wanted though. The western style heel is exactly what I wanted, and the studs would have been fine if they were just chunkier.

 1411027020_main

Schuh

Which brings me nicely onto the little beauties above. The studs are much bigger, tougher looking and cooler. They look waterproof and I love the shape of the toe, a little wider than the office ones, but not too round. A good middle. But the heel lets them down for what I want. I’m short, so if I’m going to cut my leg at the ankle (not literally, that’d be messy) I need a bit of a heel. These are just too low, and don’t have that westerny block heel. It’s such a shame, because even now I’m looking at them longingly.

60543_046300770Debenhams

The closest I could get to perfection was the pair above. Looser top? Check. Studded? Check. Rounded narrow toe? Check. They even have a strap which creates the illusion of longer legs. Guess what though? No Debenhams in my nearest town, and I like to try boots on before buying, plus, the top doesn’t quite look finished, as if there should be a trim or something attached.

I had given up. The perfect pair of boots didn’t exist. I was never going to find a fab biker/cowboy hybrid. A pair of boots that I can wear with jeans, leggings, tights or bare legs.

sulkPhoto Credit

Today though, I popped into town and called into New Look, I almost didn’t, it’s not a shop I frequent. Thank Jimmy Choo I did though, no sooner had I spotted the size 3 shelf, than I saw them. The Perfect Boots (in the sale, no less). I can’t find them online, but they are everything I was looking for. The right height, the right length, black, studded and the right shape heel. As Goldilocks would say, They Are Just Right and well worth the search. I was so pleased to find them that I put them on the second I got home, after spraying them with protector, of course and strutted around the house, admiring them. Then, I just had to tell you about them. Now, excuse me, I’m going to play dress up with my new boots!

IMG-20130515-00999

I can’t be the only person who obsesses over finding The (non-romantic) One! What have you been hunting for?

Todays Outfit!

IMG-20130515-00988 IMG-20130515-00992

Yes, they are jeggings. I know that for some people, jeggings are a sartorial sin, but I like them. They are comfy, stretchy and last well. If you find the right ones, they can look great. I got these a couple of years ago from primark, they are a bit long, but fit well and are insanely comfortable. The top is from New Look and is just the right length on me. I love the loose fit and the material, which is really soft cotton. And, of course The Boots.

IMG-20130515-00989 IMG-20130515-00996

I have also just tried to dye my hair blonde. I had some highlights last month, last week I used Garnier’s Olia in Beige Dark Blonde to try and lighten 20 years worth of dark brown dyes. Then, last night I used their Blonde. Now, considering that I have dyed my hair twice in a week, not just dyed, but lightened it, you would think that my barnet would be in flitters. But it’s not, I think it’s because Olia is oil-based, so doesn’t wreck your hair as much as most dyes. The colour may not be quite as bright, but your hair is healthier. Anyway, thats me, back from a long break.

Until next time, Happy Fabulizing!

Leave a Reply

