Through The Looking Glass

This is a different post to those I normally write. Its not about clothes, or hair, or make up. Its about body image. The way we see ourselves and how it differs. Women, in particular, are raised to tie their worth into their looks. We are taught that not only is beauty skin deep, but it can also change our lives. All those ads for cosmetic surgery tell us that if we have our noses/boobs/lips done, our lives will be better. We will be better. Not one woman can say, hand on heart, that she has never judged another based on how they look. Or judged herself based on how she thinks she looks.

woman-looking-in-mirror

Photo Credit

See, we are our own harshest critics. If I had a penny for every time I looked in the mirror and cringed at what I saw, I’d be a very rich lady. And able to afford that DVF maxi dress. Everyone has bad days, Taylor Swift has said that “I definitely have body issues, but everybody does. When you come to the realization that everybody does that — even the people that I consider flawless — then you can start to live with the way you are. I’ve read interviews with some of the most beautiful women who have insecurities. And you look at them and you’re like, ‘How do you have? Name one thing wrong with yourself,’ and they could name a handful”. She is totally right. No one is perfect, and not many people see themselves as perfect.

Now, I’ve never had any kind of cosmetic surgery, nor would I really want to. Not because I think I’m great the way I am, but because I’m too chicken. However, it’s easy to see why some people decide to go under the knife. We equate our worth with our attractiveness. And that can’t be good for anyone. We all have  favourite and least favourite part. But often, the part that we like the least is the one that others admire. It’s that thing that makes us interesting, makes us individuals.

I wish I could say that we grow out of our insecurities, but I don’t think we do, we just learn to live with them. Women hit their peak in their 30’s and 40’s, because at that age we accept that we can’t change ourselves. There is nothing sexier, or more attractive than confidence. Many years ago artists introduced flaws to their work, because perfection is boring. And, honestly, who wants to be boring?

Until next time, Happy Fabulizing peeps!

Leave a comment