Bare Face Liars!

This week I will focus quite a bit on make up. I like make up. I love the fact that you can change  the way you look, enhance your best features and minimize your worst, so easily. The one look that I have managed to perfect is the natural “Oh no, I’m not wearing any make up!” look. I can do it in less than 15 minutes now, and the key is in getting the right colours and products. I have rather pale, olive toned skin. I don’t have any colour in my cheeks at all and have been blessed with quite clear skin. However, my curse is dark undereyes. No matter how much sleep I get, my eyes always look like I have walked into several doors, or had a spot of rhinoplasty. So, hiding these flaws are my main priority. Below, is the way I handle the “natural look”. This is just me, try it yourself until you find a way that works for you.

IMG-20130219-00547

The products I used were:

BB Cream – No7 Beautiful Skin normal/oily in fair. I like the idea of my make up doing my skin some good!

Concealer/Highlighter – Maybelline Dream LumiTouch in sand. Plenty of places stock this cheap, there’s no need to go to places like Boots. 

Cheek Tint – Collection 2000 The Cheek Of It. Cheek tint works better on me than powder or cream blushers.

Face Powder – No7 Creme Touch in 01 translucent 

Eye Shadows – Revlon Colorstay Eyeshadow in White Whisper and Stila Bow set in fair (I know, but it was a freebie and I thought I’d give it a go. Low and behold, it is the perfect soft brown)

Lipstick – Clarins Rouge Appeal in 02/Cappucino

 

Mascara – Calvin Klein True Lustre in brown, I love this mascara. it doesnt flake or run or make my eyes sore. The only things I will splash out on are foundation and mascara.

 

Building a Foundation

Building a Foundation

Concealing the evidence

Concealing the evidence

You made me blush

You made me blush

Powdering my nose

Powdering my nose

Eye Eye

Eye Eye

Out on the lash

Out on the lash

Oi, lippy!

Oi, lippy!

I do the foundation/BB Cream before my concealer, it’s just the way I always have. I apply the cheek tint by painting an aunt sally-like blob on the apples of my cheeks, then rubbing it out towards my temple. The white/pale eyeshadow goes from lashline to brow, its not white white, more like an ivory and just lightens the eye. the brown goes in the crease, very lightly. Then, I curl my eyelashes and pop on two coats of mascara and my lipstick. Easy peasy!

Later this week I shall try out other make up styles and do more step by step guides. If you have any special requests, please feel free to leave a comment!

Today’s Outfit

IMG-20130219-00542 IMG-20130219-00545 IMG-20130219-00544

Today The Boy is ill, I had planned to wear something lovely to pop into town. A skirt and boots. Or maybe jeans with heels. When he fell asleep on the sofa with a temperature, I decided that comfort was a priority today, so dragged my trusty cords out, threw on a few layers and my comfy hi-tops. At least my nails are cheerful!

Cords – TopShop
Top – H+M, this is the closest I could find
Cardigan – H+M
Hi tops – Amazon

Nails – Nails Inc Atomic

Until next time, Happy Fabulizing peeps!!

2 thoughts on “Bare Face Liars!

  1. I love makeup too, but I have always found it amusing that we put all this stuff on our face, and our biggest goal is that it looks “natural”. LOL. If that was the case, we would be walking around bare faced. Still, you gotta love a good foundation that makes it look like you aren’t wearing any foundation.

Leave a Reply

