Seasons Fleetings….

The other day I was walking the dog, when I saw daffodils pushing through the wet grass. I pointed them out to The Boy and grinned. Until I remembered that we are coming into Wring. That period of time between winter and spring when it’s too warm for chunky jumpers and too cold for short sleeves, and a stressful season for the stylish.

99166097bb1f487a_siennamiller_1108
Photo Credit

The easiest way around this is to wear layers, thick tights, fine knits. But it’s tough to find a way to keep it fresh without spending a fortune. I tend to swap my woolly scarves for silk or cotton (still wear a hat), I pack away my thick (faintly disgusting, if I’m being honest) cardigans in favour of slouchy fine knits. I wear ballet pumps and bring out the brighter colours, throw my duffel coat into the pit under the stairs and embrace peacoats and jackets. Ive just been taking a quick look around some sites and have found a few goodies to share with you, to help you swing into spring.

559056-52-2 559056-52-3
Only £28 from Reiss

459052-02-1 459052-02-3
£19 from Reiss

asda asda 2
George at Asda £12

asda 3 asda 4 asda 5
All £10 at Asda

The thing to remember is, nothing looks good accessorised with blue or red faces. Comfort is important and layering is still the best way to achieve the right temperature while still looking good. Combining wool with jersey or silk is one of my favourite looks, it looks dressed-down but smart, and with the right bottoms can be incredibly versatile.

Cords are, as you may have guessed, a big love of mine. I love my cords. They are so comfortable and hardwearing that I will continue wearing them to pieces as we move into spring, but the gradual warmth in the air means that I can also bring out my skirts and dresses (with tights) and show a bit of leg.

If you are brave and have good legs you could try something like the skirts below

la redoute laredoute 3
£8.50 from La Redoute (also available in grey and black)

asos 2 asos
I LOVE this skirt, its only £18 from Asos

273721540D2 new
This chambray skirt is £19.99 from New Look

If not, Boyfriend jeans still seem to be everywhere, while treggings seem to have re-emerged as a great alternative to the often unflattering legging, have you ever seen someone’s knickers through their leggings? Then you know what I mean! Both can be worn with pumps or ankle boots and are incredibly comfy. I don’t look right in boyfriend jeans. I have an ironing board backside, so will stick to my Baxters, thank you. But I am looking forward to wearing my chinos again, they look daft with coats, so the spring is a great season for them as I rely more and more on cardigans and light jackets.

There you have it. No need for an entire new wardrobe, in fact, you probably have something similar to the things I’ve shown you, at home. But there’s something about a new season that makes you look at your wardrobe through fresh eyes, and that can only be good.

Until next time, Happy Fabulizing!

Today’s Outfit

IMG-20130215-00498

Jeans & Jumper – TopShop
Beige Top Under Jumper – New Look
Boots – Amazon
Scarf – Amazon

Okay, my legs look a little short, but I’m comfortable and warm!

Leave a Reply

