It Must Be Love…

images

Like most people, my thoughts have turned to valentine’s day. It’s less than a week away and for the first time, I have a date on the day itself. With The Husband. We are going out for a meal in a restaurant (one that doesn’t have a playbarn attached) where we will drink wine and hold hands without a seven year old shouting “EWWWW, disgusting!” at us. This means that I can get dressed up. Maybe even wear heels. That started me thinking, how do you decide what to wear when you are so out of practice? I have some really gorgeous clothes, but they all seem appropriate for certain events, and not others. A black dress seems too funeraly, a silk shift too weddingy and jeans are too casual, so what do you wear on a date with a man with whom you have shared 15 years of your life. A man who has seen you give birth and once emptied your catheter.

images (1)
Photo Credit

I have pulled out every dress I own in search of the perfect one. I miss going out and having fun, and often worry that I’ve lost my knack, that the breezy, funny, bundle of energy I was on our first date has been hidden behind years of housework, packed lunches and various other stuff. I think that’s why I’m so excited about valentine’s night, it’s a chance to remind each other of who we are behind the routine and shared history.

17246_280492406365_7333175_n

So, our date. What is appropriate for a date with your husband? I’m torn between four dresses. There is this dress from Warehouse which I absolutely love and I would wear with black patent high heels.

IMG-20130208-00416

There’s this dress from Dorothy Perkins which I’ve not worn yet but looks great with cerise heels.

IMG-20130208-00422

This from Warehouse with black shoe boots, I can’t think of any other time I could wear it, its a bit Glamazony for my usual style.

IMG-20130208-00427

Or this old dress from Next that looks good with cerise heels.

IMG-20130208-00425

So, one, two, three or four? Help me, please, fellow Fabulizers!!

Today’s Outfit

IMG-20130208-00430

Cords: TopShop
Tunic: Monsoon
Boots: New Look

I even waved my hair today, go me!

And happy Friday!!

Leave a Reply

