Baby, It’s Cold Outside. And Wet, Don’t forget Wet!

And don’t we know it! Here in Shropshire we have had rain. Lots and lots of rain. A sprinkling of snow overnight, followed by even more rain. Its also shockingly cold which kind of limits your outfit choices and plays havoc with your hair and skin. The rest of the country appears to have had snow, which at least looks pretty. On days like this its tempting to stay in your pyjamas, crank the heating up and watch reruns of Friends. But that’s a wasted opportunity. 

I love cold weather clothes. I love thick tights, woolly dresses and deerstalker hats. Skinny jeans and cuddly jumpers with bobble hats and mittens… Clothes should be comfy as well as look good.

I live in the countryside, and have a dog so vital wardrobe components are wellington boots. Now, wellies instantly summon a picture of either middle-aged land-owners, stalking through a field with a labrador at their heel and a gun at their shoulder, or a teenager in a smelly rainmac, matted hair and a nasty case of the runs, pogoing around a churned up field. I am neither of those things, which makes life difficult when searching for new wellies.

19846_238019506365_2565563_n

My old ones split a while ago, and I have been on the look out since. There are “quirky” wellies, you know the type, bright colours. Polka dots. Faux tartan. Then there are “grown up” wellies which are the colour of bird poo and only really look good with tweed. I have set my heart on these boots by Joules for my birthday, but don’t know if I can justify spending so much on a pair of wellies. But then, it rains a lot here. Decisions, decisions.

I also have a cold, which means that I have let myself slide over the last couple of days. Because, apparently, comfy equals grotty, ill-fitting and shapeless. I don’t know why, after all, the comfiest item of clothing I own is a jersey monsoon dress

Monsoon dress

Yet, I am drawn to a pair or baggy jeans and an horrific jumper. As if looking ugly is the only option. Some people get dressed up when they feel ill. I wish I was one of them. It doesn’t help that I look like a corpse when ill, too. So, tonight I am going to have a hot bath, get an early night, and start again tomorrow. That’s the great thing about fabulizing, if you fall off the Wagon, next day you can just pick up where you left off!

Leave a Reply

