Piratical Prancing, Garish Garments and Boyish Bravado

On Saturday night we went out as a family. There was a ceilidh dance on at the village hall. One with a pirate theme. And a good time was had by all. Even The Man took off his grumpy head for the night.

IMG-20130629-01273 IMG-20130629-01270

Well, sort of.

I decided to air a strange top, it’s not the usual type of thing I would wear, a bit low cut, a bit grown up for me. But I like the fabric and I love the colour. I thought that I could try to get over the shoulder detailing, wear it with aplomb.

IMG-20130629-01266 IMG-20130621-01208

It was from the H&M instore sale, although it’s still full price online, and to be honest, I didn’t notice the gold bits until I was pulling it over my head. Yes, I am THAT dozy.

IMG-20130629-01269 IMG-20130629-01268

While it does have a touch of the Joan Collins about it, the fabric is gorgeous, feels like real silk, and the (non) colour is lovely. Plus, it looked vaguely sea captainy. Which, when you are off to a pirate themed night, can only be a good thing.

It’s good to go out once in a while, have fun, shake things up a bit. Even if you do end up looking a bit daft!

Today’s Outfit

IMG-20130701-01275 Shropshire-20130701-01287

IMG-20130701-01277 Shropshire-20130701-01279

These are the Red Herring shoes from Debenhams. They feel much more secure than my other pointy shoes, and have the added bonus of being really, very neutral. Jeans are my beloved Baxters while the top is a New Look sale steal. The jacket was a Christmas present from The Man. He got it from H&M  after I subtley directed him to their jackets section. I’m a bit taken with neutral colours this week, after the cornea blazing brights of June. Some months are just more subdued, make me want to try elegance for a change.

Wish me luck!

Until next time, Happy Fabulizing peeps!

2 thoughts on “Piratical Prancing, Garish Garments and Boyish Bravado

  1. I get where you’re coming from when you dress up and you feel “grown up”.

    And the soft neutrals are good – especially against the H&M jacket. I have to say looking at the pic of you in the top and jeans – it does look very different from your usual – but it looks good – you might even get to liking this elegant lark.

    • Thank you, my reasoning behind starting this blog was to try to make more of an effort day to day, instead of barely pulling a brush through my hair. But I’ve seemed to stick to the same style I’ve always had instead. A change is as good as a rest though.

Leave a Reply

